Call Now: 254-947-9268


TAPPS announces the first TAPPS Honor Choir.  The Rehearsals and Concert will take place during the TAPPS Annual Convention. The convention is hosted by the Waco Convention Center on June 11-12th.  The qualifications for the Honor Choir required earning a Superior Rating on Class I Vocal Solo at the TAPPS Solo & Ensemble competitions held across the state.

Waco Convention Center


Hotel Information

Director / Clinician:                   Amy Allibon  |  Bio

Amy Allibon taught secondary choral music for 30 years, and she is currently teaching at Baylor University where she conducts the Women’s Choir.  Choirs under her direction have toured internationally and have performed for the Texas Music Educators and the American Choral Directors Association National Convention.  Mrs. Allibon is a Past President of the Texas Choral Directors Association and has served TMEA in numerous region officer positions. She has conducted All Region choirs throughout Texas, Nebraska, Arkansas, Florida, and Connecticut and All State choirs in Arkansas, South Carolina, and Oklahoma. She holds a Bachelor of Music Education from TCU as well as a Master in Music in Choral Conducting from Texas Tech.   She is the recipient of numerous awards for her teaching, including the Haltom High School Teacher of the Year, the James Whitehead Coca Cola Outstanding Educator, the Outstanding Music Alumni from Texas Tech, the Score-A-Goal in the Classroom Bayard Friedman Hero Award, and most recently, the 2018 Texas Choral Directors Association Choral Excellence Award. Mrs. Allibon’s own experiences in Texas All Region and the Texas All State Choir fueled her passion for music education. She resides in Fort Worth in an 100-year-old home with her husband of 29 years, Rob, and their 3 cats, Maggie, Millie, and Max

Concert Accompanist: Darla Lawless- Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School

Section Leaders and Accompanist:  

Soprano Section Leader-  Jennifer Furr – Grace Community School

Soprano Accompanist- Jeannene Bezerra- Live Oak Classical School

Alto Section Leader – Patti Eden –  The Brook Hill School

Alto Accompanist- Kim Duerksen- Private instructor

Tenor/Bass Section Leader – Debbie Prihoda – Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School

Tenor/Bass Accompanist- Darla Lawless- Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School


June 11, 2019      June 12, 2019  
10:00 am Check-in  McLennan Hall 207   8:00 am  Rehearsals Resume  McLennan Hall 207
10:30 am Student/Parent/Chaperone Meeting McLennan Hall 207   11:15 am Lunch at Convention Center- Provided for Students
11:00 am Group Rehearsal – open for observation McLennan Hall 207   12:15 pm

TAPPS General Session Begins McLennan 207-209

closed rehearsals resume
Lone Star Rooms 103, 104, 105

11:30 am Sectional Rehearsals – closed sessions Lone Star Rooms 105 (soprano), 104 (alto), 103 (tenor and bass)   1:30 pm Short Break and prepare to enter concert
12:30 pm Lunch off-campus with chaperones   2:00 pm Approximately 2:00 PM students will end our General Session with the inaugural 2019 Honor Choir Concert. McLennan Hall
2:00 pm Rehearsals resume report to Section Rooms Lone Star Rooms 103, 104, 105   approx 2:45 pm At the conclusion of the Concert, the general session will come to a close. Students will be taken to Lone Star 105 for last remarks, gathering items, and signing out. Students will not be released from the General Session room.
6:30 pm

Rehearsals End- Student sign out McLennan 207


2019 Honor Choir Students

Anna Alexander

Zane Anderson

Aislinn Bohot

Amber Bormann

Emma Burton

Makenna Connors

Isaiah Dailey

Shaanti Dasgupta

Kate Davis

Emma Dowell

Sabian Garza-Plata

Holly Gray

Makenzie Greer

Ethan Hartman

John Hartman

Daniel Hooker

Madeline Hooton

Quinton Johnson

Mia Kemp

Claire Kirby

Margaret Clare Linz

Arryana Lyon

Marcus Martinez

Andrew McCarthy

Sarah McGavern

Noah Nilsson

Hannah Payne

McKenzie Pleas

Emma Ploeger

Megan Ploeger

Christian Ramos

Jason Reis

Caleb Salazar

Cecily Shield

Thomas Sourie

Devin Treadway

Sophia Vardakis

Alayna Virnau

Charlotte Walker

Sarabeth Wallace

Sydney Wax

Nicolle Wever

Jayden White

Devon Willis

Lily Zimmermann











Dress Code: 

June 11:  Casual school dress code is appropriate.  Remember students are representing their own school as well as TAPPS.  Comfortable walking shoes, they will be walking, standing, etc. No flip-flops or slip on shoes.  Bring layers as it may be chilly in some of the rooms, even in our Texas heat.

June 12: Honor choir shirt (white, dri-fit long sleeve) will be provided.  Students should wear black pants, full length without distress or holes or long black skirt, comfortable black shoes. SHIRTS WILL BE TUCKED IN.  If you decide to wear a belt, it needs to be black or brown. Dark socks. Hair pulled back out of face. No large earrings or hair accessories.


  • Students should be prepared with their bag at every rehearsal including MUSIC and PENCIL. Water and snacks will be provided. Students who miss rehearsals may not be allowed to participate in the concert.
  • Use of cell phones is NOT allowed at any time during rehearsals. These must be put on silent and kept in student bag.

Registration Information

Registration deadline:  May 10, 2019

Registration Link

Cost:   $65 *

*TAPPS will provide a t-shirt to be worn at the concert, a music packet, supplies, a water bottle and lunch on the 12th.