2023 OAP Division II Championships


November 10 – 11
Schedule  Playbill


School Final Placement
All Star Cast and Crew

Judges and Bios

Misty Baptiste, a 1999 graduate of Abilene Christian University, “Ms. B” has been involved in every level of the One Act process since her freshman year of high school. Whether she was onstage, backstage,   directing, contest managing, serving as a clinician and/or adjudicating, she has loved every part of this process that encourages students as the creative, artistic people they are. Theatre teaches all of us way        more than the art of being onstage. What we learn about ourselves and the world around us is just as important as the lines and the blocking. Ms. Baptiste is passionate about encouraging the growth of students through theatre and loves seeing their courage displayed through storytelling. An actor, director, designer and teacher, Ms. Baptiste loves watching discoveries being made and creativity taking flight. She has a strong belief in the quote from Howard Thurman “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” Ms. Baptiste was instrumental in creating the TAPPS One Act Play Contest and proudly serves as an adjudicator for UIL, TAPPS and the Buckley Awards through Casa Manana in the DFW Metroplex. During her 20 plus years of teaching and directing, Ms. Baptiste made an appearance at State TAPPS One-Act every year for ten years winning back to back titles in 2012 and 2013.




Curtis Ashby has received training throughout the Texas hill country, Austin, Dallas, San Antonio, Chicago and Las Vegas. He is fulfilled being back in the educational setting of theatre. Recent accomplishments include 6 UIL One-Act Play state appearances: UIL One-Act Play 5A State Finalist These Shining Lives (2015) and The Caucasian Chalk Circle (2016), the 2018 5A State Champion Moon Over Buffalo, the 2019 5A 2nd Runner-Up Lend Me A Tenor, the 2021 4A State Champion Over The River And Through The Woods and the 2022 4A 2nd Runner-Up The Circus Animals’ Desertion. In addition to directing, Mr. Ashby has served as guest designer to The Magik Theatre in San Antonio and has served as Contest Manager for 3A Region IV Area 2 Contests (2016, 2017, 2018, 2022) and 4A Region IV Contests (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018). Gratitude and love to the Tuloso-Midway, Corpus Christi, Austin and San Antonio communities, Dr. Sue Nelson, Rodney Sumner, Ann Bartosh, Carol Maher, Wendy Pratt, Lyn Esquivel, Becky Ashby, Marlena Ashby, Shawn Ashby, Dr. William A. Crisp, the entire Crisp family and especially to the Tuloso-Midway High School theatre family!

Jim Rambo retired theatre professor and co-owner of Studio Rambo, is actively involved as an adjudicator for University Interscholastic League and Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools. He recently completed directing a showcase for TAPPS Summer Conference, with 21 selected TAPPS theatre students from across the state entitled “Applauding the Arts Within the Artist”. In addition he directed his 104th production of a new play entitled STAKE by Dr. Michael Long. Jim is very active in Texas Educational Theatre Association as Chair of the leadership development committee and is a member of EDIA committee as well He also enjoy serving as the emcee for TxETA’s annual award’s ceremony. He is the recipient of 8 directorial awards from Kennedy Center/American College Theater Festival.

Contest Manager
Roger Bemis